Dovecote Nurseries follow the EYFS curriculum that is governed by the UK. The EYFS framework sets UK standards for the development of children aged from birth to five years of age. The curriculum is based on four core principles:

The Unique Child

Every child is unique who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

We therefore expect our teachers and staff to:

  • understand and observe each child’s development and learning, assess progress and plan for next steps;
  • support all children to develop a positive sense of their own identity and culture;
  • identify any need for additional support;
  • keep children safe;
  • value and respect all children and families equally.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Positive relationships are:

  • warm, loving and foster a sense of belonging;
  • sensitive and responsive to the child’s needs, feelings and interests;
  • supportive of the child’s own efforts and independence;
  • consistent in setting clear boundaries;
  • stimulating and engaging;
  • built on key personal relationships in early years settings and contexts.

Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between teachers, staff, parents and carers. Enabling environments value all people and value learning.

They offer:

  • stimulating resources, relevant to all the children’s cultures and communities;
  • rich learning opportunities through play and playful teaching;
  • support for children to take risks and explore.

When all of the above are in place we can plan and deliver effective learning as we strive to become one of the best nurseries in Dubai.

Effective Learning and Development

We know that children develop and learn in different ways. Our model of curriculum delivery covers the education and care of all of our children in their early years provision, including the needs of children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Our teachers and staff teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development in the EYFS.

They foster the characteristics of effective early learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

Early years learning in the EYFS concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design